Samyo 2011/12 Awards

At the Closing Ceremony of Music India 2012, Milapfest announced the first ever Samyo Awards, presented to outstanding orchestra musicians for various types of achievements. As a whole, Samyo’s musicians are dedicated, enthusiastic and a lot of fun to work with, and our visiting musicians, all world-class maestros and composers, always appreciate their skills and potential.

But there are some musicians who have shown particular signs of progress and achievement, and on Saturday 18th August, we awarded prizes for:

Hindustani Musician of the Year: Jessica Mistry

For excellent performances, progress and achievements, including the highlight improvised performances with the National Youth Jazz Collective at the Southbank Centre, and the opening alaap at the Royal Albert Hall performance of Worldsong.

Carnatic Musician of the Year: Praveen Prathapan

For excellent performances, progress and achievements, including several solo performances, duets and leadership of the orchestra, including the performance with Milapfest’s international dance production “Nirmanika”.

Leadership Award: Tharani Nithayananthan

Best Newcomer: Koustuv Sen

Best Attendance: Sugen Reddy

Merit Awards: Sanjay Raguseelan

Prizes were distributed by our remarkable gurus, including Lalgudi GJR Krishnan, Rakesh Chaurasia, Ranajit Sengupta, Shashank Subramanyam and Conductor Gaurav Mazumdar.

At the ceremony, we also announced Orchestra Leaders for 2012/13:
Orchestra Leader: Tharani Nithayananthan
Choir / Vocals leader: Naviena Selvarajah
Percussion Leader: Sugen Reddy


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.