Announcing the winners of the Milapfest Dance Fellowship Award 2012

Milapfest is delighted to announce the winners of the 2012 Fellowship Awards for Dance.

Supporting the work and professional development of Indian music and dance artistes, particularly emerging artists, is an integral and central part of Milapfest’s mission and work.  To achieve this, we have created a number of unique opportunities in performance, touring, training and professional development for emerging and established artists.

The Milapfest Dance Fellowship offers real support to aspiring dancers and established teachers by providing them with a life-changing opportunity to travel to India and learn from the very best teachers and dance institutions.  We work closely with the dancer and teacher in India to formulate the most effective training plan which will help to achieve the dancer’s goals.  We strongly feel that training in India with legendary Guru’s and top performers educates, stimulates and inspires students in a unique way which perhaps no other training method or experience can.  In the past, fellowship winners have gone on to study at prestigious schools such as Kalakshetra (Chennai), Srjan (Bhubaneshwar) and Kadamb (Ahmedabad).  Dancers work closely with Gurus at these and other institutions to refine their technique, learn new repertoire, develop new skills (such as music for dance) or enhance teaching and performance methods.

Each year Milapfest awards four Dance Fellowships to students of Bharatanatyam, Kathak & Odissi plus a fourth one to a Teacher who wishes to travel to advance their skills & training.

The ultimate aim of the programme is to create meaningful opportunities for professional development, training and profile building for young and emerging artists and inspiring teachers that will make a major contribution to raising the profile of these artists as well as of the art forms they represent in Britain.

The winners of this year’s Milapfest Dance Fellowship are:

  • Marcina Arnold – Teacher’s Category
  • Elena Catalano – Odissi
  • Arianna Balabbio – Bharatanatyam
  • Louise Clements – Kathak

We’ll be updating you on their progress and activities over the coming months.

We wish them every success as they prepare for an exciting and rewarding dance experience!

For more information about the opportunities available to musicians and dancers please follow this link.

2 Responses to Announcing the winners of the Milapfest Dance Fellowship Award 2012

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.