Announcing the winner of the Yuva Sangeet Ratna Award 2014

Last night saw the second annual competition performance to find the Yuva Sangeet Ratna Young Musician of the Year Award.

Following a string of truly excellent performances by the candidates, this year’s judges, Lalgudi GJR Krishnan, Patri Satish Kumar and Gaurav Mazumdar had a tough time deciding the final winner. The decision was so difficult it became impossible with two candidates proving absolutely equal in their respective art forms.  So, in an unprecedented turn of events, two candidates were awarded the shared title and benefits of the Yuva Sangeet Ratna Award!

Yuva Sangeet Ratna Award Winners 2014:

  • Yarlinie Thanabalasingham     Carnatic Vocal
  • Nilanjana De     Hindustani Vocal

Yuva Sangeet Ratna Award Runner Up:

  • Pirashanna Thevarajah    Mridangam

Check out these images from the event. Photo credit Mithushan Sivagurunathar.

The next instalment of the Ratna Awards takes place tonight at the The Capstone Theatre with six amazing young dancers competing to become the 2014 Yuva Nritya Ratna Young Dance of the Year.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.